RSS Feed

A Study in Irony

If you’re in the midst of a life-long search for irony, you need look no further than my life. I was once talking with someone about irony, trying to explain situation irony to them. I couldn’t think of a perfect example off the top of my head. The only one I could think of was getting run over by an ambulance, a lame example I once heard from a teacher. Now that I think about it, I could have given him one of many examples from my life. There was this one time I was putting cream on my face. I didn’t want to get it in my hair, so I pushed my hair behind my ear. Of course, there was cream all over my hand, so my hair got really gross anyways.

Sisterhood Everlasting (The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, #5)

Now, I have a new example that just makes me want to cry. I’ve been reading a lot of disappointing and/or Postmodern books lately, and I wanted a nice, light, happy-ending style break from all the seriousness. So I went to the library and I got a nice, silly book to read. I discovered that the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series has a new addition, Sisterhood Everlasting. It’s the sisterhood, ten years later *inhales sharply with mock excitement*. I really was under the impression that it would be nice, relaxed, happy read. I thought no one would die or kill themselves. Turns out, Tibby, one of the four girls, drowns. And it’s questionable whether it was an accident. The book seems to be about how each of the remaining girls handles her grief. So much for my nice, happy read.

About Elizabeth Anne

I’m obsessed with novels, short stories, poetical works &c., and my family has refused to put up with my ranting and raving about these things any longer, so I’ve decided to ramble to you, the internet.

3 responses »

  1. What a horrible discovery. No wonder no one knows this book exists! How dare she kill off Tibby? The girls of the travelling pants have been my secret refuge from deep classical and often depressing literature since my early pre-teen years and I find it very unsettling to know that this is how it ends for them – especially because Tibby was my favourite!

    Thank you for warning me against seeking out the final chapter of the sisterhood lol.

    Reply
    • And the actual way she writes about it kind of annoyed me, it was really abrupt, like she was trying so hard to shock you. I just didn’t find it believable. Also, the girls really just didn’t grow up. They seemed like they were still 19, not 29! You’d think they’d mature and make some new friends in ten years. It seemed to pick up where they were, but throw jobs and “grown-up responsibilities” into the mix!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 03/20/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

What do you think?

