RSS Feed

Little Women

Photo credit: Amazon.com

Unlike most of my other favourite books, Little Women was shockingly not recommended by my (very favourite) former English teacher. I actually thought about giving the real book (as opposed to the unreal book) a try after reading The Mother-Daughter Book Club, an adorable young adult series that I borrowed from my little sister. In the first book they read Little Women and in the next few they go on to read Pride and Prejudice and Anne of Green Gables. So obviously this is an awesome series for this fact alone. In fact, while my sister reads these books because (like most normal people when reading a book) she genuinely cares about the characters, I read them solely for the allusions to the books I actually read. Like, for example, one of the main characters, her mother’s obsessed with Jane Austen, so she and her brother are named Emma and Darcy after Jane’s characters. And every chapter starts with a quote from the book their book club is currently reading. Let’s just say this series is pretty awesome.

So, I began reading Little Women over the summer, after borrowing it from a friend who told me it was amazing. She was right. I love little women so, so very much. It’s just such a deliciously, delightfully light read, with lots of little pieces of gold that are so true to life.

I also really liked the nice, warm happy ending when the whole family bonding so sweetly together. I think that, especially in today’s age of technology and the constant focus on money and financial success, it it so nice and refreshing to have the emphasis placed on family and love and all those things, which, to me,  are what really matter.

Now, I know that some people aren’t so satisfied with the fact that Jo ends up with Prof. Bhaer, but personally I thought it ended just right in that respect. No, it wasn’t quite like Pride and Prejudice where I fall in love with him by the end, but it really isn’t about if love him, it’s about Jo loving him! Even in P&P, the whole reason I love Mr. Darcy is because he’s so perfect for Elizabeth. Same goes for Prof. Bhaer, I like him and I’m satisfied with Jo’s marriage to him because I think they’re right for each other.

I’m sure some people think that Jo should have gotten together with Laurie in the end, but I just don’t see that working out. When I was younger and read the abridged version (which you can read about here) I actually did think they should end up together. When Amy met up with him in Europe, while Jo was at home, I was under the impression that Jo wanted Laurie, despite her protests and that was why she was sad. I thought Amy was such an obnoxious, little brat.

However, upon reading the real thing, I realized that she really didn’t care about Laurie in that way. She genuinely wanted him to find someone else and was glad that that someone else was her sister. She and Laurie wouldn’t have made a good couple, they’re too similar, like two tornadoes, they each need someone who can ground them and is different enough to be a foil. I think they work so much better as brother- and sister-in-law.

Furthermore, by the end, I really wanted Jo and Prof. Bhaer to get together because of how desperately she finds herself wishing for his proposal. He comes  to visit the town where she lives and stays nearby for a bit, frequently coming to visit her household. On I think it’s his final day, she goes to off to the market to buy something where she hopes to bump into him — who hasn’t done such a thing? When they do meet, she’s just in agonies, wondering if maybe she had read him wrong and he really doesn’t plan on proposing at all. When he finally does, I, for one, was elated for her. It didn’t really matter how felt about him, Louisa May Alcott wrote it so effectively that I completely empathized with Jo and wished for exactly the same things she did, regardless of my own sentiments (if that make any sense…) And that, I think, is what makes effective writing.

The thing I love so much about this book is its capacity to make me both laugh and cry. I thought it was the perfect balance between reflective and (mostly) realistic, (especially in the way she addressed John and Meg’s marriage, showing that even with all their love, it wasn’t perfect, but something they had to work  at) while also keeping it light and entertaining.

To see my previous post on Little Women click here.

For a list of my other favourite books click here.

About Elizabeth Anne

I’m obsessed with novels, short stories, poetical works &c., and my family has refused to put up with my ranting and raving about these things any longer, so I’ve decided to ramble to you, the internet.

4 responses »

  1. Great post. I read Little Women a little while ago (because Rachel and Joey read it on Friends :D) and I have to say that you’re absolutely right about Laurie and Jo. They were not supposed to end up together, they would not have been happy with each other. I sooooo love this book!

    Reply

What do you think?

